Firm or Corporate?

Two choices: PR Firm or PR Corporation. Which would you choose to work in?

Well, they are two very different work environments even though they cover the same type of field. A PR firm has more opportunity for growth and is much more fast-paced. Chances of getting hired directly out of college are high and they provide the training necessary to make you a good employee. The training is huge to me. I am terrified that I will walk into a future career and not have the necessary skills that they expect me to have. How can one possibly know without previous experience? That’s why a PR firm looks appealing to me. I am willing to learn, but I can’t do that without a teacher and some room for error.

A Corporate PR, on the other hand is a more “settled” job. It requires higher qualification, has better job security, and is more consistent in who they work with. They are there with the client from beginning to end and guide the whole process. This seems to me that it would get dull very quickly. While not feeling pressured to deliver long hours and deadlines all the time would be a nice perk, it’s also nice to keep things interesting and to feel challenged. Tapping into potential is great and sometimes a mundane job hides talents that aren’t being used. I like to think that there will be potential for moving forward in whatever job I find. I have no problem starting at the very bottom, as long as there is a chance that I will be noticed and promoted. I also believe that the PR firm’s deadlines and pressure would unify the team and make the goals that much more realizable. If there is a team working on an event or project and everyone is helping each other to deliver the best service and product, I love that. I love team work and feeling part of something.

About lilhanlin

I like to think of this blog as a beautiful connection between my life, personal convictions, and daily whims to whoever takes a moment to pause and read- even if it's only to myself re-reading it a few months later. Too many things keep expression trapped inside of us, and it's such a necessary element of life - to self-express and to see emotion released in its rawest, most authentic form. Writing allows us to do that - to take the time to articulate exactly what we feel or what we don't quite understand but must speak out.
This entry was posted in Topics of the Week COMM 2322. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

