My Digital Brand

what you say and what you do online...stays there forever

I just googled myself: first time I did it since I was about eight years old. More than anything, it was a trip down memory lane. I had forgotten about my obsession with flixster.com when I was younger- a movie-rating site. I forgot about mylife.com and so many other things that I had signed up for that I haven’t been using. For the more up-to-date sites, I found twitter and facebook as the major sites future employers would be interested in.

Twitter is a mixture of fun observations, sarcastic thoughts, and PR class requirements. It’s actually very confusing!  To someone going through my tweets, there is no focus to them. They are just a random collection of assignments and interests I have. It’s mixing professional with personal and I definitely think I should be more focused when tweeting in the future.

My facebook page has a lot of information on it. Simply documenting my life thus far. There’s nothing helpful to improve my chances of finding a job. That’s not why I created it in the first place. But there’s nothing detrimental, either. I have never posted anything inappropriate on there because my parents always cautioned me that anyone can see it and it’s there forever. What do I want to broadcast to the world? I never broadcast something that I don’t see as a part of what makes me who I am. I want to be proud of myself always. So, if I ever do make a mistake, why would I put it on a social networking site to mock me? I try to keep my facebook page fun and personal, while still maintaining a certain level of professionalism. I don’t like to get involved with drama because it just looks bad. People say things in the heat of the moment that they regret later. I don’t want that stuff written down anywhere.

About lilhanlin

I like to think of this blog as a beautiful connection between my life, personal convictions, and daily whims to whoever takes a moment to pause and read- even if it's only to myself re-reading it a few months later. Too many things keep expression trapped inside of us, and it's such a necessary element of life - to self-express and to see emotion released in its rawest, most authentic form. Writing allows us to do that - to take the time to articulate exactly what we feel or what we don't quite understand but must speak out.
This entry was posted in PR Connections COMM 2322, Topics of the Week COMM 2322. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Digital Brand

  1. cynflynn91 says:

    I agree that people say things that they regret later in the “heat of the moment” and I think that you’re smart for keeping those kinds of things off of your Facebook page. But I would avoid using cliches in your writing. Cliches can imply different things to different people and saying “in the heat of the moment” might imply something you don’t mean to convey. I also love the picture you used for this topic, it goes great!
    Overall, keep up the good work!

  2. Pingback: Blog Comments Peer: 2322 « Writing for PR Blog

  3. Pingback: Blog Comments Peer – 4333 « Writing for PR Blog

Leave a Reply

