How I Use Social Media

My professor just asked me what my favorite type of social media is. Despite the new twists on social media- aka twitter, google+, tumblr, etc.- my loyalties lie with facebook.

Facebook is so multi-faceted and includes so much opportunity for networking. Other forms of social media offer more personal expression. For example, a blog can get very personal and in-depth. You are essentially putting a part of yourself out there, or ripping a page out of your diary. It’s much more exposure. Facebook is more holistic for life. It’s great for communication, making connections, maintaining friendships and career opportunities. Just today, a hip hop band contacted me on my fb chat, asking if I wanted to cover their story. My college career interests list that I am enrolled for Journalism, and a little bit of communication reeled in a great opportunity. In my opinion, everything else is a spin-off of facebook. There’s nothing wrong with the original.

About lilhanlin

I like to think of this blog as a beautiful connection between my life, personal convictions, and daily whims to whoever takes a moment to pause and read- even if it's only to myself re-reading it a few months later. Too many things keep expression trapped inside of us, and it's such a necessary element of life - to self-express and to see emotion released in its rawest, most authentic form. Writing allows us to do that - to take the time to articulate exactly what we feel or what we don't quite understand but must speak out.
This entry was posted in PR Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

